Tech-know-crat

Your Dose of obsession from Formula 1, Flying, Travel, Football, Watches, Collectibles and everything inspirational everywhere in daily life

Paddock Club Diaries - Abu Dhabi GP 2013 Day 3

Sunday was the Big Day!! The Final day of the Paddock Club Diaries for this Season! The last of the 4th and Final Paddock Club Experience for me.

Well, Lets relive it!


UAE is known for its fancy cars and I came across a couple on my way to Yas Island.



Enroute to Yas Island :


I reached the Paddock Club and the First event of the day was the GP2 Sprint Race :


Kimi Raikkonen joined us in the Suite to oblige the guests with autographs!!


Eric Boullier talking about the Team's Performance so far


Lunch!!!


A quick lunch and it was time to go down for the Final Pit Lane Walk of the weekend and the Final one for me to be at. I wanted to make the most of it.


Shots from the Pit-Lane Walk :


A Moment with Steve Robertson ( Kimi Raikkonen's Manager ). He is a very approachable man and very humble.


The Pit Lane Walk ended and preparations were in full swing for the race.

Cars doing installation laps :


Lotus Boys taking sighters of the Track :


The Grid Preparations :


The Etihad Airways Fly-Past :


The Cars rolled out for the Formation Lap and the Mechanics had to run back to the pits!

Video Link :


The Cars lined up on the Grid and Expectations were high. Kimi Raikkonen started at the back of the grid after the disqualification on Saturday and I was praying for a strong result.

Race Start Video Link :



The Race began and Kimi jumped the Marussia but ran a bit wide on the kerb. The Resulting imbalance caused contact with the Caterham and damaged the front suspension rod. It was a First Lap retirement for the Iceman and a good weekend that went from bad to worse for me :( A Rare Retirement for the Iceman...

There was still a race to be won and here are some shots from the Race :

McLaren Mercedes during their Pit-Stop

Video Link :



The Lotus F1 Team in the Race :


Lotus F1 Team Pit-Stop Video Link :



The Chequered Flag came out and it was Sebastien Vettel again who took victory! Mark Webber finished 2nd while Nico Rosberg held off a late charge by Romain Grosjean to hold onto 3rd place.

Kimi Raikkonen was the sole retirement in the race.


Video Link ( Chequered Flag ) :


Fireworks display :

Parc - Ferme :

It was time to say goodbye to my friends at Lotus F1 Team and as I headed out, I saw the Yas Marina Hotel shining in all its glory!!

Some more exotics on the way back :

It was a good weekend from a neutral point of view but very disappointing as a Kimi Fan.

I was sad to see it end like this. This was the last race in 2013 that I would be at and it turned out to be the last one for Kimi too as he decided to go in for Back Surgery.

Overall it was a satisfactory 2013 for me. It all started with an All Expenses Paid trip to the Malaysian GP thanks to Tourism Malaysia. Then the German GP, Italian GP, Indian GP and the Abu Dhabi GP to make it 5 races for the season. I was with the Lotus F1 Team in the Paddock for the 4 races and I must say it was a great experience. I shall cherish every moment.

A Special Thank you to Oliver Anderson, Anne-Charlotte Remy, Sophie Stapleton, Anna Pamin, Fleur Foster, Francois Puentes, James Robinson, Gaby Mills, Anita Nyers, Fred Garcia and Luca Mazzocco for all the Hospitality shown to me.

I made some really dear friends in this season and I am thankful to God that I got a chance to meet such wonderful people!!

A Big Thank you to YOU my followers and readers on various social platforms who have been patient enough and enjoyed reading everything that I have shared over the past year.

2014 will have its own experiences and I pray that I get a chance to be at a couple of races... Fingers Crossed.

God Bless You All!!