Tech-know-crat

Your Dose of obsession from Formula 1, Flying, Travel, Football, Watches, Collectibles and everything inspirational everywhere in daily life

Thank you TOURISM MALAYSIA !!!!

Surprises come in many packages and I have been at the received end of some in the recent past.

God Blessed me with some great experiences in the past year and I have had the opportunity to write about them.

2013 started off with a bang and the 2012 fairytale still continues.


Tourism Malaysia ( India ) have always been gracious in offering great prizes. They have maintained this trend whenever the Formula 1 Grand Prix has come to Sepang International Circuit and this year was no different.


A hard but fair battle was fought and there was a winner at the end of the day and Thank God I was the fortunate one, albeit by the skin of my teeth!!

Tourism Malaysia would award me an all expenses paid trip to Malaysia to enjoy the Malaysian Grand Prix!!!


It was time to pack my bags and embark on the journey!!

I flew out on 22nd March 2013 and arrived in Kuala Lumpur Late Evening.


Tourism Malaysia had offered me a fantastic hotel in KL Sentral ( the Hub in Kuala Lumpur ). The Hotel inauguration was on the same day.

A Starwood Property, The Aloft is the new 5 Star in the Heart of KL!!


The Hotel was gracious enough to offer me an upgrade too as I am an SPG Gold member!


The Room was a spacious one and had a fresh feel to it. Some of the shots of my room :



The View from My Room :


Some views from the Passageway :

23rd March 2013 :

The Excitement couldn't be contained. A quick breakfast and I was on my way to the Sepang International Circuit to the see the Saturday Practice and Qualifying for the Race.

En Route to Sepang :


Malaysia Leaves No Stone Unturned in Welcoming Racing Fans!!


The Tourism Malaysia Pavilion at the Circuit!


The Circuit is very close to KLIA and temperatures easily touch the Mid 40s


After a Tiring but Exciting Day at Sepang, it was time to return to the Hotel

( For More on the Saturday action visit : http://tech-know-crat.posthaven.com/malaysian-gp-2013-vettel-defies-mutli-21 )


However before I made my way back to the Hotel, I had the opportunity to test my racing skills at an International Karting Circuit at Sepang and believe me I was unwilling to leave the place!! I kept racing for almost an hour and thoroughly enjoyed every moment.


It was a long drive back and after a nice refreshing shower, I made my way down to the Coffee Shop for an elegant meal laid out. I also had the opportunity of meeting representatives of Tourism Malaysia!!


I had some time to explore and burn some calories after the meal. The Aloft is known as a party hotel. It envisages the vision of the W Group of Hotels and one can see the evidence of the same!

The Hotel Facade :


The Re:Mix Lounge :


The Hotel Reception & Business Centre :


The WXYZ Bar :


24th March 2013, THE BIG DAY!!

Post Breakfast, I joined the group consisting of executives invited by Tourism Malaysia and we made our way down to Sepang for the Race!


A Moment with the Director of Tourism Malaysia!! A Very Gracious and Kind Man. Thank you Sir for all the Hospitality!!


It was now time to prepare for the Racing Extravaganza!!

( To Read all about the Sunday action visit : http://tech-know-crat.posthaven.com/malaysian-gp-2013-vettel-defies-mutli-21 )


An Exciting day at the Circuit! Thank you Sepang International Circuit for such a memorable race!!


25th March 2013

I chose to spend my final day shopping at my favourite SURIA KLCC Mall!

Enroute to Suria KLCC :


It was time to drive back to the Airport and return home... 


At the Airport ( KLIA ) :


Sitting in the Lounge, I awaited my flight for Mumbai :


Bye Bye Malaysia ! Thank you so much for all the Hospitality !!


Malaysia = Truly Asia !!


I would like to thank Tourism Malaysia ( India ) for this amazing experience. I shall cherish it. A Big Thank you to the Aloft at KL Sentral for all the Hospitality and maintaining the Quality that Starwood has been renowned for !

A Big Thank you to Mr. Amit Tripathi of Beehive Communication for all the co-operation shown in making my trip preparations a breeze.


Thank you so much Tourism Malaysia!! Hopefully I shall return for the Malaysian Grand Prix in 2014!!!