Tech-know-crat

Your Dose of obsession from Formula 1, Flying, Travel, Football, Watches, Collectibles and everything inspirational everywhere in daily life

Paddock Club Diaries - 2022 Hungarian GP - Day 2

The Hungarian Grand Prix gets held at Hungaroring, close to the capital Budapest. Although it isn't too far from the city, hailing a taxi to the circuit is a cumbersome process and I learnt my lesson the hard way on Saturday morning. After several attempts, I could finally hop into a taxi with a couple of Dutch friends, but the delay meant that I would miss out on meeting Carlos Sainz Jr in the Ferrari F1 Club when the Spaniard visited.

 

Enroute to the circuit on Saturday morning :


I finally reached Hungaroring and it was already time for the Pit Lane walk.

Shots from the first pit lane walk of the day :



As I made my way back to the Paddock Club, I had the opportunity of meeting a couple of people from the F1 fraternity.



F2 Driver and Reserve for Williams Racing, Roy Nissany :



David Coulthard, ex-McLaren F1 Driver and Presenter :


The skies were overcast and rain was a certainty.

The Paddock and the drivers getting ready for action on a wet Saturday!


The view before the Final Practice session of the weekend :


Shots from Free Practice 3 :


As soon as FP3 got over, I headed to the food stations to grab some lunch.

The menu for Saturday :


Time to enjoy some goodies on offer in the Paddock Club :


With lunch done, it was time to get prepped for Qualifying.

The Pit Walls get ready for the start of Qualifying :


Drivers roll out of their pit boxes to get on the track for the start of Qualifying.



Shots from Q1 :


The Scuderia Ferrari drivers pushing hard in Q1.


Yuki Tsunoda, Alexander Albon, Sebastian Vettel, Pierre Gasly and Nicholas Latifi got eliminated at the end of Q1.


Shots from Q2 :


Leclerc and Sainz at it in Q2 :


Sergio Perez, Zhou Guanyu, Kevin Magnussen, Lance Stroll and Mick Schumacher were the next lot of drivers to drop out of Qualifying. Perez's failure to make it into Q3 was a major upset.


The final top-ten shootout, time for Q3 :


Will the Ferrari duo come out on top?


George Russell took an unlikely pole from Carlos Sainz Jr and Charles Leclerc. Max Verstappen, the Championship Leader, could only manage P10. It seemed like Red Bull was on the back foot. This was Ferrari's race to lose.


Post Qualifying, Mattia Binotto, the Team Principal joined the guests in the Ferrari F1 Club for a quick Q&A :


Video Link of the Interview :



Mattia Binotto, Scuderia Ferrari F1 Team Principal :


I decided to walk to the Paddock Club entry and enjoy a moment with some trophies on display!

Take some photos with the Race Winning, Drivers' and Constructors' Championship Trophies!


I signed up for the Photo Safari that took Paddock Club guests to turn 5 to allow the latter to have a closer look at the cars. We had the opportunity of visiting the spot during the Formula 2 Sprint Race.


Some Selfies taken at the Photo Safari :


The drivers battling during the F2 Sprint race :



Video of the view from turn 5 at the Photo Safari :




Returning to the Paddock Club and taking more stills from the F2 Sprint race :


The Paddock Club shut shortly after the F2 Sprint Race but there was still a pit lane walk on offer for those wanting to visit the garages on Saturday evening.

Shots from the 2nd and final pit lane walk of the day. It bore a deserted look as most of the guests had left the track. All the cars were under wraps, waiting for Raceday.


As I bid adieu to the Paddock Club, I went down to the Support Race Paddock in the hope of meeting Mick Doohan, Jack Doohan's father. Mick Doohan had been my first Motorsport hero and I didn't want to miss the opportunity of meeting him. Jack, an Alpine Academy and Uni Virtuosi Driver had won the F2 Sprint race and it was befitting to wish Mick on his son's success.


I waited for his arrival and was surprised to bump into the podium finishers from the F2 Sprint Race.


Enzo Fittipaldi and Juri Vips after finishing on the podium in the F2 Sprint Race :


Jack Doohan, the Winner of the F2 Sprint Race! I got to meet the son too!


After a long wait, night fell on the F2 paddock and distraught, I finally gave up the hope of meeting Mick Doohan. As I headed back up the bridge, I made one final glance to the entry. To my surprise, I saw the outline of a man in a white t-shirt walking with three people towards the Paddock Club parking. I couldn't follow their route since they went through the race track. I decided to leg it to the parking and as he was entering his vehicle, I shouted "Mick Mick!" It was really Mick Doohan! 

What followed was a brief and amazing exchange, followed by a picture clicked by Jack Doohan! This truly was a dream come true. I am still getting goosebumps as I type this! 

Meeting my hero, the man who made me fall in love with Motorsport. Got me hooked on Moto GP. Mick Doohan!


It was finally time to head back to my hotel and process all that had transpired on the Saturday!


Like the Friday Experience showcased in a Vlog on Youtube, here is the link for the Saturday experience :



A big thank you to Scuderia Ferrari F1 Team for hosting me over the weekend and being a part of these memorable days of my life. The Raceday experience follows suit shortly, so watch this space!!