Tech-know-crat

Your Dose of obsession from Formula 1, Flying, Travel, Football, Watches, Collectibles and everything inspirational everywhere in daily life

Paddock Club Diaries - 2023 Belgian GP - Day 1

Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, home to the Belgian Grand Prix, is my favourite track on the F1 calendar. Ever since Mika Hakkinen and Kimi Raikkonen delivered stunning victories at this vintage F1 track, visiting this circuit nestled in the Ardennes forest has become an annual pilgrimage for me. Having attended this race on six occasions, I can now declare myself as half-Belgian :)

Spa-Francorchamps is one of the few classic F1 tracks that remain on the calendar, and I hope the contract extends beyond 2025.


The Paddock Club Diaries begin with the Friday Experience, and although I am six months late, it is amazing to relive the memories through these blog posts!


Pictures taken with the Sony RX10 IV and Samsung Galaxy S23 Ultra.

En route to the circuit on a rainy Friday morning:


I had to pick up my race passes from the Radisson Blu Hotel in Spa and luckily, I got myself parking passes too!

Race Passes for the weekend :


The walk from the Taxi Drop-off to the Paddock Club completes my cardio workout for the day!

Walking to the Paddock Club :


The Ferrari F1 Club, the home of the Scuderia Ferrari F1 Guests for the weekend :


Coffee and Croissants to kickstart my day!


Thanks to the team, I got myself some time to visit the Paddock but unfortunately, a downpour began.

Walking through a wet and rainy Paddock :


The rain let up soon and I had the opportunity of getting selfies with some famous faces from the F1 Paddock.


Davide Brivio, ex-Yamaha, ex-Suzuki in MotoGP and Racing Director in Alpine Racing F1 Team :


Pierre Gasly, Alpine Racing F1 Team :


Alexander Albon, Williams Racing F1 Team :


Reigning World Champion, now a Triple World Champion, Max Verstappen, who races for Oracle Red Bull Racing F1 Team :


Sergio Perez, Oracle Red Bull Racing F1 Team :


Charles Leclerc, Scuderia Ferrari F1 Team :


It was then time for the first pit lane walk of the weekend and I walked across to the Pits to behold the cars up close!

Shots from the first pit lane walk :


Stills with the Samsung Galaxy S23 Ultra :


Williams F1 Team Practicing their Pit Stops ( Video Link ) :



Meeting Beat Zehnder, Sporting Director, Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake ( in the pit lane ) :


Lunch is served! A great spread indeed :


The Belgian Grand Prix was a Sprint-Race weekend in 2023, so the drivers had only one Practice session before the Grand Prix qualifying that gets held on a Friday evening.


Free Practice gets underway!


The Scuderia Ferrari F1 Team working hard in FP1 in inclement weather :


The chequered flag brings to an end an FP1 which was battered by rain :


Drivers practising their starts from various grid slots :


Video Link :



Carlos Sainz Jr topped the timesheets from Oscar Piastri and Lando Norris. Charles Leclerc was P4 in the other Ferrari.


Post Free practice, Marc Gene visited the Ferrari F1 Club for a quick Q&A :


I decided to spend some more time in the Paddock before Qualifying and as I walked through the Paddock Club, I met an ace ex-cricketer!

1983 Cricket World Cup Winner, Indian Cricket Legend and now an ace commentator, Ravi Shastri :


The Media pen in the Paddock, abuzz with activity after a session :


The trip to the Paddock was fruitful as I met more drivers.

Liam Lawson, Reserve Driver for Red Bull Racing F1 :


Zhou Guanyu, Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake :


Tom Kristensen, WEC Champion & Record winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans :


Soon enough it was time for Qualifying and I headed back upstairs.


Q1 underway :


The Ferrari Drivers in Q1 :


Shots from Q2 :


Scuderia Ferrari F1 fighting it out in Q2 :


The sun came out before the start of Q3. Glorious views!


The final shootout commences :


Leclerc and Sainz go full send :


The Parc-Ferme after Qualifying :


Max Verstappen was the quickest at the end of Qualifying from Charles Leclerc and Sergio Perez. Carlos Sainz Jr was P5 in the other Ferrari. 

However, Leclerc inherited Pole Position since Verstappen had a five-place grid penalty due to new engine components.


Post-Qualifying, the Paddock Club guests had the privilege of going on a track tour on trucks!

Ready for the tour!


Shots from the Paddock Club Track Truck Tour :


Video Link of the Paddock Club Track Truck Tour :



As I got off the trucks, I got to meet Jakey Benham, Dani Bereznay, Jarno Opmeer & Marcel Kiefer, Sim racers for Mercedes F1 E-Sports Team :


The tour was the last activity of the day and it was time to head back to my hotel in Aachen.


Goodbye Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps :


I also compiled a Vlog about my Friday Experience on my YouTube Channel!


Video Link about the Friday Experience :



A big thank you to the hosts at the Ferrari F1 Club and the Scuderia Ferrari F1 Team for their hospitality and for making my Friday Experience a memorable one. The Saturday Experience follows shortly!